Watch PFW S/S 2015 DRIES VAN NOTEN, LANVIN, VIONNET, CARVEN, BARBARA BUI, GUY LAROCHE, ROCHAS and more

30/09/2014

models backstage at Chloe Spring/Summer 2015 via style.com
A glimpse into the Paris fashion week Spring/Summer 2015 and the dreamiest, most

Outfit inspiration | Sonia Rykiel Spring/Summer 2015

Sonia Rykiel Spring/Summer 2015 collection
In a midst of errands and running around like a headless chicken on speed, I managed to catch a moment for myself, a cup of tea and a quick browse of the latest collection on style.com And this was when I fell in love with this chic, fun and fabulous look from the Sonia Rykiel Spring/Summer 2015 collection.

Sonia Rykiel Spring/Summer 2015 collection
Sonia Rykiel Spring/Summer 2015 collection
I know, the socks may be a touch difficult, but who says I wouldn't be able to find a pair of shoes or sandals to replicate the effect? Love, love, love this outfit so much - a sleeveless jacket, stripes, a bit of snakeskin (I know, it really is a disease in my case...) So perfect for summer and very Parisian!

Sonia Rykiel Spring/Summer 2015 collection
Sonia Rykiel Spring/Summer 2015 collection
Photo source: Sonia Rykiel Spring/Summer 2015 collection via style.com and stylebistro.com

Paris

29/09/2014

Chloe founder Gaby Aghion dies

28/09/2014

a portrait of Gaby Aghion by Sandra Suy
"I don't explain anything. I have lived... I lived the life I wanted. I soundly believed in all of this and I held on."
Gaby Aghion

Gaby Aghion, the founder of Chloe, passed away yesterday aged 93 leaving us with a wonderful, free-spirited and truly Parisian brand and a sense of natural beauty and flirty femininity.

Marc Ascoli & Gaby Aghion by Stephane Feugere
Photo source: a portrait of Gaby Aghion by Sandra Suy, Marc Ascoli & Gaby Aghion by Stephane Feugere via wwd.com

Chloe is for life

27/09/2014

Sasha Pivovarova & Andreea Diaconu in Chloe Fall/Winter 2014 campaign (photography: Inez Van Lamsweerde & Vinoodh Matadin)
Chloe, sunshine and croissants because they make a perfect start for a weekend. After a day of prepping the dough, I am baking my own pastries this morning to have one with a cup of deliciously fragrant coffee, somewhere between the moment I was awaken by the fluffy paws softly tapping on my chest and the time when the owner of said paws, Mr and I will escape to the country side for a long walk.

Sasha Pivovarova & Andreea Diaconu in Chloe Fall/Winter 2014 campaign (photography: Inez Van Lamsweerde & Vinoodh Matadin)
Sasha Pivovarova & Andreea Diaconu in Chloe Fall/Winter 2014 campaign (photography: Inez Van Lamsweerde & Vinoodh Matadin)
Sasha Pivovarova & Andreea Diaconu in Chloe Fall/Winter 2014 campaign (photography: Inez Van Lamsweerde & Vinoodh Matadin)

Photo source: Sasha Pivovarova & Andreea Diaconu in Chloe Fall/Winter 2014 campaign (photography: Inez Van Lamsweerde & Vinoodh Matadin)

Outfit inspiration | Paris fashion week

26/09/2014

Saskia de Brauw in Noblesse Oblige | Vogue Paris December 2014 (photography: Alasdair McLellan, styling: Anastasia Barbieri)
I wanted something cosy and monochromatic, something that would give a sense of freedom and protection, sensuality and elegance, simplicity and timelessness, something in my favourite shade - the charcoal grey. Then I put everything I loved and imagined on a piece of paper and transformed these ideas into an outfit, an ultimate wish list if I am honest... I wonder what would a Parisienne think of it...

Grey outfit, Parisienne style, Paris-inspired outfit idea, street style | Christophe Lemaire, vintage Hermes, Vionnet, Haider Ackermann, YSL, Serge Lutens
Coat, Christophe Lemaire | Sweater, Anthony Vaccarello | Trousers, Vionnet | Boots, Haider Ackermann | Bag, vintage Hermes | Sunglasses, Saint Laurent | Perfume, Serge Lutens | Silk & lace bra (and matching thong), Myriam Girard | Lipstick, Lancome

Photo source: Saskia de Brauw in Noblesse Oblige | Vogue Paris December 2014 (photography: Alasdair McLellan, styling: Anastasia Barbieri)

Stylish quote

25/09/2014

Astrid Berges-Frisbey wearing Christophe Lemaire in Elle US August 2014 (photography: Dan Martensen, styling: Vanessa Chow)
"It is a global disease of our time - the idea of consumerism.  You need time to create quality. You need time to think. You need time to dream. You need time to step back.  If you are always in a constant rush, running after time and trying to kill time, you become crazy. And you don't produce real quality."

Christophe Lemaire

Photo source: Astrid Berges-Frisbey wearing Christophe Lemaire in Elle US August 2014 (photography: Dan Martensen, styling: Vanessa Chow)

PFW live streams: every show at your fingertips

fashion week schedule and live stream to watch on line for free
Last week and a few shows to watch over the next seven days. 

THURSDAY 25 SEPTEMBER
Carven - 25 September at 10:00 London | 11:00 Milan & Paris | 8:00 New York | 13:00 Moscow
Manish Arora - 25 September at 11:00 London | 12:00 Milan & Paris | 6:00 New York | 14:00 Moscow
Balmain - 25 September at 14:00 London | 15:00 Milan & Paris | 9:00 New York | 17:00 Moscow
Barbara Bui - 25 September at 15:00 London | 16:00 Milan & Paris | 10:00 New York | 18:00 Moscow
Rick Owens - 25 September at 17:00 London | 18:00 Milan & Paris | 12:00 New York | 20:00 Moscow

FRIDAY 26 SEPTEMBER
Christian Dior - 26 September at 13:30 London | 14:30 Milan & Paris | 8:30 New York | 16:30 Moscow

SATURDAY 27 SEPTEMBER
Haider Ackermann - 27 September at 9:30 London | 10:30 Milan & Paris | 4:30 New York | 12:30 Moscow
Viktor & Rolf - 27 September at 12:30 London | 13:30 Milan & Paris | 7:30 New York | 15:30 Moscow

SUNDAY 28 SEPTEMBER
Chloe - 28 September at 15:00 London | 16:00 Milan & Paris | 10:00 New York | 18:00 Moscow
Givenchy - 28 September at 19:00 London | 20:00 Milan & Paris | 14:00 New York | 22:00 Moscow

MONDAY 29 SEPTEMBER
Elie Saab - 29 September at 15:00 London | 16:00 Milan & Paris | 10:00 New York | 18:00 Moscow

TUESDAY 30 SEPTEMBER
Chanel - 30 September at 9:30 London | 10:30 Milan & Paris | 4:30 New York | 12:30 Moscow
Valentino - 30 September at 13:30 London | 14:30 Milan & Paris | 8:30 New York | 17:30 Moscow

WEDNESDAY
Louis Vuitton - 1 October at 9:00 London | 10:00 Milan & Paris | 4:00 New York | 12:00 Moscow
Miu Miu - 1 October at 13:00 London | 14:00 Milan & Paris | 8:00 New York | 16:00 Moscow
Hermes - 1 October at 16:30 London | 17:30 Milan & Paris | 11:30 New York | 17:30 Moscow

Photo source: Gucci official Facebook page

MFW: what a feeling!

24/09/2014

It was a very strange feeling... I cannot really describe it apart from saying that Milan fashion week left me with an odd sensation. As if I expected more - and never quite got there. Just like eating a low fat ice-cream - the pretty tempting shell without flavour and strange after taste...

Roberto Cavalli Spring 2015
There were a lot of florals, leather, brogues and fabulous high heels...

The 1970s reigned supreme...

Giamba Spring/Summer 2015
There were new, but familiar faces. Giambattista Valli returned to his home land with Giamba (a sister line named after Valli's nickname), an overload of flower-covered prettiness in mini(ature) lengths and shapes.

Jil Sander Spring/Summer 2015
At Jil Sander, Rodolfo Paglialunga who brought Vionnet back to the fashionable scene in 2010 (and also worked at Prada before that), showed his first collection for the brand.

Rodolfo Paglialunga
I missed Ferre very much.

I thought of retirement for the others - after all, one can be an extraordinary driver, but once you lose the sense of reality or the vision (both physically and metaphorically) or simply want to leave whilst everyone remembers you as an emperor, you've got to find a successor to drive this car of yours around. Before it gets uncomfortable for everyone... for it's not the easiest thing to be brutally honest with the ones you truly love.

I had a moment of deja vu, yet again.

I was happy at times, the smiling-happy, the dreaming-happy sort of thing. And sometimes I felt bored, which is a worrying emotion when it comes to fashion.

Never the less, I chose my favourites. These clothes spoke to me one way or another... Luckily for those who prefer shorter blog posts, the main conversations will be limited down to three.

Shall we start with Prada?

Prada Spring/Summer 2015
The purple sand and dark room made me think cosmic. I thought Miuccia was going to take everyone to the future, but instead, unpredictable as Prada is, the designer turned the clock back into the past, all the way down to the 19th century where she looked for some of the brocades used in the Spring/Summer collection. The rest of the fabrics dated anything from the early 1900's though the 1960s. Once lost, they were found and reproduced by Prada to live their new lives in clothes. Not only that, the whole point of this exercise was to bring everyone's attention to the craftsmanship, the quality of the artisans, and preserve the centuries-worth of traditions and craft before it's wiped away by time and fast fashion, turned into the sand... Even if she did nothing else, but just this one thing, I would love and respect Prada endlessly.

Prada Spring/Summer 2015
But she did a lot more than that. She played and dreamed and paired the impossible components, the loves and hates, the surprises and shocks, to provoke, to make us fall in love and imagine something we haven't ever thought of before...

Prada Spring/Summer 2015
The beautiful dresses with imperfect fringed unfinished hems brushing against the skin. The strands of fabric tangling among the jewels. The seams that added a new dimension to the lady-like coats and then became bold and almost rude when disturbing the precious brocades of the figure-hugging sheaths.

Prada Spring/Summer 2015
At the end Miuccia gave us a lot to talk about, a lot to wear and play with, something for now, something to collect. What it was like for her, I wonder? Probably just another day in Prada Universe that never stops spinning.

Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Prada Spring/Summer 2015
Alright, I confess, the very first look from the Missoni Spring/Summer collection didn't quite do it for me, didn't grab my heart securely enough. It all began with the second outfit...

Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
The lightness and the light, the movement and the flow, the colours and the sparkles. The trenches that would make the most perfect summer cover-up and the simple maxi dresses that moved like a dream. A feeling of pure bliss embedded in dresses, the ease, the joy and an absolute sense of freedom. Loved it. The soundtrack, "Nothing compares 2 U" in Chinese, was rather special, too.

Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Missoni Spring/Summer 2015
Of course, I couldn't miss Marni.  Despite the fact that the brand was turning 20, Consuelo Castiglioni created such a fantastic collection mixing Zen and modern that twenty felt youthful and fearless rather than, well, old.

Marni Spring/Summer 2015
It was so true to Marni spirit, full of deconstructed graphic shapes and floral prints possibly inspired by South Asia (think Zen and Bhutan, the only country that measured it's success by the so very holistic value of the gross national happiness - maybe this is another reason why Marni resonates with me so much).

Marni Spring/Summer 2015
A lot of thought went into the details: the choice of fabrics and the finished (and often unfinished) hems, the draping, prints, embroidery and appliqués, and, of course, the accessories. It was beautiful and very clever, witty and joyous. Wonderful for the soul and the body it lives in.

Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Marni Spring/Summer 2015
Photo source: Prada Missoni Spring/Summer 2015 backstage, Roberto Cavalli Spring/Summer 2015 backstage, Jil Sander Spring/Summer 2015 backstage, Prada Spring/Summer 2015, Missoni Spring/Summer 2015, Marni Spring/Summer 2015 via style.com, stylebistro.com, backstage photos via vogue.com