Nutrition | Foods for healthy heart

28/02/2015

More couture for Lagerfeld

27/02/2015

Fendi Fall/Winter 2014
Following their spectacular ready-to-wear Fall 2015 show Fendi made an exciting

Max Mara & Marilyn

Max Mara Fall/Winter 2015, Marilyn Monroe photographed by George Barris in Santa Monica, 1962 via fashioned by love
It was a story of a camel blanket, a cosy cardigan and a movie star, the moment when

Erdem: the canvas of imagination

26/02/2015

Best looks from London fashion week

25/02/2015

Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Paul Smith
When I was little, my piano teacher taught me the words "crescendo" and "culmination", the gradual, but definite increase in music until it reached the highest point. I no longer play piano, but remember the sensation, the whirlwind I'd get while letting my fingers live the life of their own hitting the keys in an emotional and never-to-be-the-same marathon. 

Often I turn to fashion shows tlooking for the familiar feeling. I admit, with the Spring/Summer and Pre-Fall behind, I expected to get rather excited and happy comes the fashion week. More often than not it didn't happen this season. 

There were a few collections that I loved - and I sometimes was surprised with my choice (just as I was surprised by my disappointments) - but I will talk about them tomorrow.

Today is about the looks. The beautiful, wearable ensembles that I would love to wear right now. See if you spot anything you like.

THE COATS & CAPES: Paul Smith x2, Margaret Howell, Joseph & Jasper Conran

Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Paul Smith
Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Paul Smith
Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / margaret howell
Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Joseph
Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Jasper Conran
THE SUITS: The classic by Paul Smith, the tweed by Simone Rocha, the most amazing leather lace gorgeousness by Erdem & the incredibly elegant trouser version by Paul Smith.

Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Paul Smith
Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Simone Rocha
Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Erdem
Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Paul Smith
THE DRESSES: the fitted tweed mini by Topshop & the cosy luxe version by Pringle of Scotland

Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Top Shop
Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Top Shop
THE LOOKS OF LOVE at Margaret Howell & Erdem

Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Margaret Howell
Best looks from London fashion week 2015 / Erdem
Off I go dreaming... 

Photo source: Jasper Conran Fall/Winter 2015 & Margaret Howell Fall/Winter 2015 via stylebistro.com, Erdem Fall/Winter 2015, Simone Rocha Fall/Winter 2015, Paul Smith Fall/Winter 2015 & Joseph Fall/Winter 2015 via style.com

Beauty | The ultimate moisturiser

24/02/2015

Oskia Nutri Active Day cream review
What does it take to find a perfect moisturiser? In my case, two years, four brands and a sample of Oskia Nutri-Active Day Cream. It was a sort of "where have you been all my life? - how foolish of me was not to try it sooner!" feeling. 

The sample, packed in a beautiful ribbon-tied cotton pouch, came with the Perfect Cleanser, my absolute must-have then and, two and a half years on, now. I held the little square between two fingers, lightly swinging it side to side, wondering if it's worth a try, hesitated... 

I knew there was always a chance that my sensitive skin might not be pleased with a swap. Besides, my other cream seemed like a good choice already. I put the square in a draw and walked away.

48 hours later I gave in.

And let me tell you, it was wonderful! I used the sample twice and ordered the full size bottle immediately. And another one. And another... At the moment I am on my fifth potion - I guess the timing is good for a review in addition to the fact that we are half way through celebrating British fashion (and who says skincare can't be a part of it, especially if it's so good).

Why do you need to consider (or run and order) this miracle worker?

* It's a fantastic product. It's light, almost like a serum or milk, and sinks into the skin very quickly without leaving it sticky or oily.

* It's very moisturising (I have a normal/combo skin that can get a little dry during winter). A morning application provides enough hydration for the entire day (I blend my own oils to use in the evening).

* You need a tiny amount. In summer my "dose" is two pumps (pea size), in winter - three (large pea size). And yes, I use it all year round. A bottle normally lasts for 3 months or a little longer.

* The cream is suitable for all skin types including sensitive, or acne-prone. Some of the ingredients are known to be great for psoriasis and skin irritation.

* Your skin will glow (though you will have to watch what you eat, too)

* The cream also supports collagen production, brilliant for little lines and wrinkles and feeds your skin with 15 essential nutrients including vitamins A, group B, C, E and D, Omega's, probiotics and zinc (life savers if you are prone to spots!) and MSM. In addition to this fabulous cocktail, you get milk peptides, hyaluronic acid, Swiss apple stem cells, vitamin P and yeast lysate that take care of skin elasticity, DNA and rejuvenation.

* The scent is very light. I'd say I can hadly smell it, but the fragrance you do get is very comforting, like a caress or voile on your skin.

* It is natural, so you won't find any parabens, synthetics and other junk here. Some of the ingredients are organic. It is also free from beeswax - something I know I can't use because my skin gets miserable and spotty (and unfortunately, a lot of natural moisturisers have beeswax as a base)

* It's bottled in glass, so you won't be getting any nasty xenoestrogens (PCBs, PBA, phthalates etc.) either.

* Made in Britain. Sold worldwide. Retails for £52 and worth every penny.

* And to conclude, here's the full ingredients list: aqua, MSM, glycerin, cetearyl olivate, sorbitan olivate, organic shea butter, organic jojoba oil, rice germ oil, sesame seed oil, decyl oleate, cetearul alcohol, sunflower seed oil, kukui seed oil, rose hip seed oil, glyceryl caprylate, benzyl alcohol, whey protein, glyceryl dibehenate, tribehenin, calendula extract, sodium hyaluronate, malus domestic fruit cell culture, limonium narbonense flower/leaf/stem extract, saccharomyces ferment filtrate lysate, glyceryl behenate, natural fragrance (from lychees and rose oil), citronella, ceraniol, linalool, inulin, alpha-glucan oligosaccharide, tocopherol, lecithin, xanthan gum, dehydroacetic acid, phenozyethanol, sodium lactate

Outfit inspiration: LFW

23/02/2015

Burberry Prorsum Backstage Fall collection / what to wear to fashion week / London fashion week streestyle
When it comes to London fashion I love to mix high end and high street, play with

Nutrition | Tips for fashion week

22/02/2015

What to eat during fashion week; nutrition tips for busy lives; nutrition tips for stress; fashion models diet secrets.
Fashion week is about fantasy. It is also about odd schedules, lack of sleep and

Watch LFW shows live stream

21/02/2015

Watch London Fashion Week / LFW fashion shows live stream online
London fashion week is here and, once again, here are the full schedule and your front row seat at every show that will be live streamed for the next four days of fashion extravaganza.


SATURDAY 21 FEBRUARY 2015
Jasper Conran 10:00 London | 5:00 New York | 11:00 Paris & Milan | 13:00 Moscow
Emilia Wickstead 11:00 London | 6:00 New York | 12:00 Paris & Milan | 14:00 Moscow
Sibling 12:00 London | 7:00 New York | 13:00 Paris & Milan | 15:00 Moscow
Julien Macdonald 13:00 London | 8:00 New York | 14:00 Paris & Milan | 16:00 Moscow
Holly Fulton 14:00 London | 9:00 New York | 15:00 Paris & Milan | 17:00 Moscow
Lucas Nascimento 15:00 London | 10:00 New York | 16:00 Paris & Milan | 18:00 Moscow
J.W.Anderson 16:00 London | 11:00 New York | 17:00 Paris & Milan | 19:00 Moscow
1205 17:00 London | 12:00 New York | 18:00 Paris & Milan | 20:00 Moscow
Simone Rocha 18:00 London | 13:00 New York | 19:00 Paris & Milan | 21:00 Moscow
Gareth Pugh 20:00 London | 15:00 New York | 21:00 Paris & Milan | 23:00 Moscow TBC

SUNDAY 22 FEBRUARY 2015
Preen 9:00 London | 4:00 New York | 10:00 Paris & Milan | 12:00 Moscow
Margaret Howell 10:00 London | 5:00 New York | 11:00 Paris & Milan | 13:00 Moscow
David Koma 11:00 London | 6:00 New York | 12:00 Paris & Milan | 14:00 Moscow
Issa 12:00 London | 7:00 New York | 13:00 Paris & Milan | 15:00 Moscow
Matthew Williamson 13:00 London | 8:00 New York | 14:00 Paris & Milan | 16:00 Moscow
Temperley London 14:00 London | 9:00 New York | 15:00 Paris & Milan | 17:00 Moscow
Topshop Unique 15:00 London | 10:00 New York | 16:00 Paris & Milan | 18:00 Moscow
Paul Smith 16:00 London | 11:00 New York | 17:00 Paris & Milan | 19:00 Moscow
Vivienne Westwood RL 17:00 London | 12:00 New York | 18:00 Paris & Milan | 20:00 Moscow
Mary Katrantzou 18:00 London | 13:00 New York | 19:00 Paris & Milan | 21:00 Moscow
Jonathan Saunders 20:15 London | 15:15 New York | 21:15 Paris & Milan | 23:15 Moscow

MONDAY 23 FEBRUARY 2015
Antonio Berardi 9:00 London | 4:00 New York | 10:00 Paris & Milan | 12:00 Moscow
Roksanda 10:00 London | 5:00 New York | 11:00 Paris & Milan | 13:00 Moscow
Erdem 11:00 London | 6:00 New York | 12:00 Paris & Milan | 14:00 Moscow
Barbara Casasola 12:00 London | 7:00 New York | 13:00 Paris & Milan | 15:00 Moscow
Burberry Prorosum 13:00 London | 8:00 New York | 14:00 Paris & Milan | 16:00 Moscow TBC
Osman 14:00 London | 9:00 New York | 15:00 Paris & Milan | 17:00 Moscow
Christopher Kane 15:00 London | 10:00 New York | 16:00 Paris & Milan | 18:00 Moscow
Thomas Tait 16:00 London | 11:00 New York | 17:00 Paris & Milan | 19:00 Moscow
Peter Pilotto 17:00 London | 12:00 New York | 18:00 Paris & Milan | 20:00 Moscow
Giles 19:00 London | 14:00 New York | 20:00 Paris & Milan | 22:00 Moscow

TUESDAY 24 FEBRUARY 2015
Ashley Williams 9:00 London | 4:00 New York | 10:00 Paris & Milan | 12:00 Moscow
Michael van der Ham 10:30 London | 5:30 New York | 11:30 Paris & Milan | 13:30 Moscow
Marques'Almeida 11:30 London | 6:30 New York | 12:30 Paris & Milan | 14:30 Moscow
Christpher Raeburn 12:30 London | 7:30 New York | 13:30 Paris & Milan | 15:30 Moscow
Emilio de la Morena 13:30 London | 8:30 New York | 14:30 Paris & Milan | 16:30 Moscow TBC
Ashish 15:30 London | 10:30 New York | 16:30 Paris & Milan | 18:30 Moscow
Ryan Lo 16:30 London | 11:30 New York | 17:30 Paris & Milan | 19:30 Moscow

NYFW: Elizabeth & James for grown-ups

20/02/2015

NYFW FW 2015: Oh, Michael, oh Michael, I love you, I love you

19/02/2015

Michael Kors Fall/Winter 2015 backstage
Trust Michael Kors to make you feel warm and elegant simultaneously - and you will

Oscar de la Renta F/W 2015: visions still unfold in sweet imagining

18/02/2015

Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
The late Oscar de la Renta was a very smart man. He founded a fashion house based on a simple fact that, regardless on how many trainers are worn as daywear or how popular the ugly sandals and street wear become, women will always be women - and secretly, or not, will always search for fantasy and believe in a timeless kind of beauty.

De la Renta built an empire and then choose the perfect man to trust it to. Last night at 18:30 in New York, Peter Copping has finally revealed the much anticipated collection he designed for the house of Oscar de la Renta. 

Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
As Ine Neefs in a beautiful black beaded coat made her way down the catwalk, the wave of warmth, lightness and love accompanied by The Trip tune swept across the room... And the women smiled. And nodded. Their eyes sparkled in a silent emotional dialogue with fashion and memories.

"Time has come to go
Pack your bags, hit the open road.
Our hearts just won't die.
It's the trip, keeps us alive...

So many miles away...

They're following some dance of light
Tearing into the night
Watching you fall asleep
The sweetest dove in a dream...

So many miles away..."

Copping did it. He respectfully and carefully preserved the legacy of Oscar de la Renta, the essence of femininity and glamour the house has been famous for, and then he took it into the future.

Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Perhaps, some of the looks could have been done in a slightly different way and yes, there were unmistakably familiar pleats and shapes from the Copping's Nina Ricci past, but the spirit of de la Renta, his ideas and touches were carefully preserved, too. Among my favourites were the black coat, the ivory pieces, the indulgent furs, the cocktail dresses, especially the frosted white one, and the stunning deep red evening gown. They were spectacular. 

Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015
With his debut, the new Oscar de la Renta creative gave women exactly what they wanted - a dream to live in, from morning till night... over and over again. Oscar would have certainly approved... 

"Watching from a distant constellation
Eyes that can see the world in changing hues
Visions still unfold in sweet imagining
Time reveals that love's the only truth..."

Photo source: Oscar de la Renta Fall/Winter 2015 via style.com and vogue.com, lyrics from The Trip byStill Corners and Dayglo Reflections by Bobby Womack & Lana Del Rey